Innovation Leader Impact Awards

Innovation Leader’s Impact Awards honor companies that have achieved extraordinary outcomes related to their innovation programs. Unlike other awards, Innovation Leader’s program is based on what matters; namely, the impact of your programs (i.e., not the existence of the programs themselves).

2019 awards applications were accepted from March 1st, 2019 through June 21st, 2019. You can watch videos or read about our 2018 Impact Award winners here.

The 2019 Impact Awards reception will be a central part of the Impact 2019 conference in San Francisco, October 22-24, 2019. Registration for that event is now open for corporate innovation, strategy, R&D, and new ventures leaders in large organizations.

About the Awards Program

Have you delivered impact through a crowdsourcing program, innovation lab, employee idea challenge, corporate VC program, or other innovation strategy — whether internally or externally focused? Then your initiative qualifies for the Impact Awards! Entries will be accepted starting in spring 2020. Winners will be announced at our annual conference, Impact.

Timelines and Deadlines

  • August 13, 2019: Finalists announced for 2019 Impact Awards
  • September 24, 2019: Winners of the 2019 Impact Awards announced
  • October 22-24, 2019: Winners honored at Impact 2019
  • March 2, 2020: Submissions open for 2020 awards cycle
  • June 26, 2020: Deadline for all submissions

Eligibility Criteria

Entries are valid for work undertaken between January 1, 2016 and June 21, 2019. Because many innovation projects take several years to create meaningful impact, we’ve allowed for an extended eligibility period to capture initiatives for which you may have measurable impact data or metrics. Entries will be accepted from companies that have more than 1,000 employees AND generate at least $100 million in annual revenue. Companies from all industries and locations are encouraged to apply.


What are the Impact Awards?

Innovation Leader, a fast-growing publishing and events company, created the Impact Awards to honor companies that have achieved extraordinary outcomes related to their R&D, HR, new product development, and other innovation-related initiatives.

Are there fees to enter?

Entries are free for members of Innovation Leader (click here for more information on membership). Non-members will be charged $375 for each entry.

Can I submit more than one entry?

Yes, you may submit multiple entries if there are several projects or initiatives you’d like to have considered for awards.

Who are the judges?

Finalists will be chosen by Innovation Leader’s editorial team, but we’ve assembled a panel of judges to choose the winners from the pool of Impact Awards finalists.

How will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced during our annual conference, Impact 2019 and in the fall edition of our print magazine.

What will the winners receive?

Winners get a beautiful Impact Award trophy at our awards reception, as well as the opportunity to host a discussion table at Impact 2019 focusing on their initiative; a handful of winners will have the option of running a one-hour breakout session instead. ( Vendors and agencies, if you submit an award on behalf of a client, please note that if your client wins, only the client has the opportunity to attend Impact and present onstage at the conference.)

Winners will be promoted by Innovation Leader in all its vehicles, including email, online, and print (print magazine reaches 20,000+ innovation executives). The winners will also receive recognition in a press release issued at Impact, and during the conference program at Impact 2019. Winners will also receive a digital logo for royalty-free use online and in print, and will be promoted to our community of innovation execs via social media and our newsletter.

Am I required to attend Impact 2019 in order to submit for the Impact Awards?

Award submitters are encouraged to attend Impact 2019, but are not required to purchase a ticket in order to submit.

Who were the past winners?

2018 winners included Medtronic, USAA, Johnson & Johnson, Cisco, Citi, DBS Bank, and more. You can see the complete list here.